Common questions

What tags are over-the-counter in Wyoming?

What tags are over-the-counter in Wyoming?

Wyoming is another state that offers Over-the-Counter (OTC) elk tags, but has now been limited to residents only. Wyoming has 112 wildlife management units (hunt areas) and 84 hunts in 77 of those units have general season (OTC) elk tags available to residents.

Can you buy an over-the-counter deer tag in Wyoming?

General Deer Licenses General license deer hunt areas allow unlimited “over-the-counter” license sales for Wyoming residents. Many general license deer hunt areas also have additional limited quota doe/fawn (reduced-price) licenses available.

Does Wyoming have over-the-counter antelope tags?

Member. Leftover WY antelope tags are no longer OTC. You will need to enter the drawing for leftover tags.

Is Hunter orange required in Wyoming?

Does camouflage orange satisfy Wyoming’s hunter orange requirement? A. Yes it does. Wyoming law requires the wearing of one fluorescent orange garment during the firearm’s season to include a hat, shirt, jacket, coat or sweater of a fluorescent orange color.

Can you hunt on your own property in Wyoming?

Wyoming has Walk-In Areas (WIAs) for hunting on foot only. These areas are on private land where the WGFD has made arrangements with the landowner to allow public hunting. For more information, go to the Walk-In Hunting Areas information on the WGFD’s Private Lands Public Wildlife Access Program website.

How much does it cost to hunt antelope in Wyoming?

License Fee Changes

Antelope Resident Antelope $37.00
Antelope Nonres Antelope $326.00
Antelope Nonres Special Antelope $614.00
Archery Nonresident Archery $72.00

Can you use radios while hunting in Wyoming?

Enter the world of hand-held radios — the old geezer’s friend. Come hunting season in Montana and Wyoming, they’re handy things to have, though you do have to remember to use them legally. For example, my call to Matt on our hand-helds last week was perfectly legal — and helpful.

Can you hunt on your own land in Wyoming?

How many acres do you need for landowner tags in Wyoming?

Landowner license applications shall only be accepted from landowners who own at least 160 contiguous acres of deeded land and has shown a minimum of 2,000 days use of the species applying for during the 12-month period immediately preceding the date of application.

What are the different types of tags in Wyoming?

Wyoming’s 10 different tag types, plus general opportunities can be confusing when you apply for Wyoming hunting licenses. Here’s a full breakdown of types of deer, elk, and antelope licenses available to help you understand them better.

How to get a hunting license in Wyoming?

Use these links to look up your draw results, find leftover license availability, look up preference points and drawing odds. From residency requirements and lifetime license to wildlife disease and law enforcement information. These additional topics may be helpful on your Wyoming hunting experience. Am I a Wyoming Resident?

Do you need a tag for archery in Wyoming?

Most have a special archery season that precedes the start of the Any Legal Weapon season dates, usually the same special archery season as the other general or limited quota tags for the area. To participate in this archery season, one must also purchase an archery permit.

What do you need to buy a game animal in Wyoming?

Each person applying or buying needs a username and password just for them — even youth hunters. Apply for limited quota game animals, Super Tag raffle, preference points and other special draws. Remember – Unsuccessful Nonresident elk, deer and antelope applicants will not be awarded a preference point.