Common questions

Where do mandated reporters have to report?

Where do mandated reporters have to report?

the Department of Communities and Justice
A mandatory reporter must make a report to the Department of Communities and Justice (formerly known as FaCS) Child Protection Helpline, when they have reasonable grounds to suspect that a child is at risk of significant harm and those grounds arise in the course of, or from their work or role.

How long is the NYS Mandated Reporter Online training?

Mandated reporters can participate in this 2-hour web-based online training course at any time, 24/7. Users must complete the course within 30 days and within the course duration which is the current calendar year. Progress is saved at the end of each section, so you can complete it at your own pace.

Does mandated reporter training expire in NY?

The NYS Mandated Reporter Certificate is a one-time requirement for initial licensure. After the successful completion of the two-hour web-based training course, mandated reporters are required to maintain a permanent copy of the certificate.

Who are mandated reporters in NY?

New York State recognizes that certain professionals are specially equipped to fulfill the important role of mandated reporter of child abuse or maltreatment….Those designated professionals include:

  • Physician.
  • Registered Physician Assistant.
  • Surgeon.
  • Medical Examiner.
  • Coroner.
  • Dentist.
  • Dental Hygienist.
  • Osteopath.

How often do you do mandated reporter training?

Effective January 1, 2018, child care licensee applicants as a condition of licensure and licensees, administrators, and employees must take mandated reporter training within 90 days of beginning employment and biennially thereafter.

Who is considered a mandated reporter?

New South Wales Who is mandated to report? A person who, in the course of his or her professional work, or other paid employment, delivers health care, welfare, education, children’s services, residential services or law enforcement, wholly or partly, to children.

Where can I get mandated reporter training in NY?

Training is available for all mandated reporters in New York State at no cost to participant. The New York State Office of Children and Family Services ( OCFS) operates the New York Statewide Central Register for Child Abuse and Maltreatment ( SCR ), where mandated reporters are required to report suspected child abuse and maltreatment.

Where can I get CPR training for mandated reporters?

A no-cost, OCFS-approved Mandated Reporter training is available online. Check with local Social Service districts to find out about any trainings they may also provide to Mandated Reporters. Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and First Aid Training

How is progress saved on mandated reporter Resource Center?

Progress is saved at the end of each section, so you can complete it at your own pace. Interactive exercises are customized for the major disciplines: Social Services, Education, Law Enforcement, Child Day Care, and Medical are included.

How to get a certificate of attendance for mandated reporter training?

A certificate of attendance is sent to those who complete the course. You will receive a credit for two hours of training on this topic. For customer service, call Registration Services, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. at 1-800-836-0903, and press “3”.