What was the four courts used for?

What was the four courts used for?

The Four Courts is the centre of the Irish justice system, with all major trials being held here. The Central Criminal Court is also part of this building. The Four Courts are so called because the building originally housed the four courts of Chancery, King’s Bench, Exchequer and Common Pleas.

Can you visit the Four Courts?

The foundation stone for the Four Courts was laid by the Duke of Ruthland in 1786 and the first court session took place in 1796. This impressive building has a central block with an arched courtyard and end pavilion on either side. You can visit court buildings around the country when the courts are sitting.

How old is the Four Courts Dublin?

The Four Courts, since the first case heard in them in November 1796, have been at the epicentre of the Irish legal system. Built on the original 13th century site of a Dominican Friary garden which would later become the old King’s Inns, the present Four Courts emerged in the twenty years between 1776 and 1796.

What are the 8 courts in Ireland?

The Courts of Ireland consist of the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, the High Court, the Circuit Court, the District Court and the Special Criminal Court.

Who designed the Four Courts?

James Gandon
Thomas Cooley
Four Courts/Architects

Who blew up the Four Courts?

On 14 April 1922 about 200 Anti-Treaty IRA militants led by Rory O’Connor occupied the Four Courts in Dublin, resulting in a tense stand-off.

What does the Supreme Court do Ireland?

It is a court of final appeal and exercises, in conjunction with the Court of Appeal and the High Court, judicial review over Acts of the Oireachtas (Irish parliament). The Supreme Court also has appellate jurisdiction to ensure compliance with the Constitution of Ireland by governmental bodies and private citizens.

What were the Free Staters fighting for?

Free-Staters was the name given to settlers in Kansas Territory during the “Bleeding Kansas” period in the 1850s who opposed the expansion of slavery. Many of the “free-staters” joined the Jayhawkers in their fight against slavery and to make Kansas a free state.

How does the court system work in Ireland?

The Irish legal system is broadly divided into two branches: the civil side and the criminal side, each with its own specialised courts. The Criminal Courts deal with criminal cases. District Court – Summary jurisdiction, No Jury – Minor Offences,Jurisdiction to grant bail in most cases.

What event happened at the Four Courts?

The Civil War began on 28 June 1922, when the National Army attacked an anti-Treaty force that had been in occupation of the Four Courts in Dublin since April of that year. After 60 hours of fighting and comparatively few casualties, the Four Courts garrison surrendered.

How much do judges get paid in Ireland?

Judicial Remuneration

Chief Justice and President of the Courts
Chief Justice € 238,327
Judge of the Supreme Court € 208,145
Judge of the Court of Appeal € 202,329
Judge of the High Court € 196,410

Where are the Four Courts located in Ireland?

1. Four Courts 2. Chancery Place Courthouse 3. Public Records Building 4. Chancery Street Courthouse High Court – Nos. 19 & 21. 6. Green Street Courthouse 7. Smithfield Courthouse District Children Court Office.

Why was the Four Courts in Dublin demolished?

It was once described as ‘both the physical and spiritual centre of the building’. Like many of Dublin’s finest buildings, the Four Courts suffered the ravages of war. During the civil war, which followed the Anglo-Irish Treaty, it was almost completely demolished.

Why are there so many courthouses in Ireland?

Steeped in political history and architectural splendour, Irish Courthouses are not only places of tradition and purpose for the judicial process but are also places of rich cultural heritage. The Four Courts has stood for over 200 years as a bastion of law in Ireland.

Where are the Four Courts of Justice located?

The Four Courts is the location of the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, the High Court and the Dublin Circuit Court. Until 2010 the building also housed the Central Criminal Court; this is now located in the Criminal Courts of Justice .